Sebastian Stumpf

Photography
Video
Text

Surveying Deficits
by Lina Morawetz for the exhibition "Zenith" 2019 at Galerie Kleindienst Leipzig

The painter Eugene Delacroix is supposed to have said that there are lines that are monsters ... Which immediately leads one to ask: what lines? And: what monsters? It’s possible that Delacroix had horizontal lines in mind, as an uncurved stroke without the slightest upwards or downwards deviation definitely has something impressive, even overpowering about it. The horizon is nothing but a monstrous line.

The horizon divides the picture in two. The eight pairs of pictures that make up the photographic series Zenit [Zenith] presented at the Galerie Kleindienst in Leipzig feature an ambivalent relationship to this line. This is conveyed by monstrous settings. Another line is also to be seen. Thin, black, scrawling, almost invisible but far from negligible, this second line indicates that the protagonist of the pictures is the one releasing the shutter. 

The ocean is blue and green, in reality a breathtaking setting. But it’s not about the view. It’s about an image into which the protagonist inserts himself by means of breakneck, extremely precise work: work required to construct an image. Delacroix is also supposed to have said that of itself a line has no meaning. A second line is needed to lend the first expression. It is accordingly the verticality of the body in the photograph that as a sign or symbol lends the line of the horizon a kind of significance – “expression”. These two axes are so precise that a foot is allowed to point askew, like a footnote to a story that isn’t a story at all. 

This is not a narrative about connections or attempts. By capturing a leaping point Ozean [Ocean] and Zenit examine the construction of images in time and space in moments devoid of time and space. Like a media-ontological reflection or a derealization: retrospective, visual materializations of past performances, but also pictorial illusions on the edge of a ruinous, otherwise undefined world. 

The ground of this world is made of concrete, sand, and disintegrating blocks that look slippery and are presumably regularly washed over by the tide. In ancient Greece Ōkeanós was the current that flowed around the flat surface of the earth. Whereas nowadays the seas sweep over the globe, or rather humans pillage the oceans. The world is upside down, out of joint.

“Zenit” means “in the direction of the head”. As if trying to do justice to an upside down, out of joint world, in every second picture of the series the protagonist’s head is pointed “downwards”. 

But the head is standing on itself. It is clear that the head has been placed on the world and not the world on the head, upside down, out of joint.

By way of contrast the video Ozean presented alongside Zenit elicits in the viewer above all the ambivalent expectation that the protagonist has vanished in the ocean, as he dives into the water but never visibly re-emerges. This disappearance is suggested in an existential location – the point where land and water part ways. Bas Jan Ader is thus evoked, who once said: “The sea, the land – the artist has known with great sadness they too will be no more.”

Whether these leaps and headstands and dives are intended seriously or playfully can be answered with the observation that precisely the absence of sense has the monstrous capability of generating sense. In a footnote Jacques Derrida once noted: “The serious only has one sense: play, which no longer has one, is only serious to the degree that ‘the absence of sense is also a sense’, yet is always astray in the night of an indifferent non-sense.”1

To create art is to struggle. Against “nights of indifferent non-being”, against underexposure, even against breathlessness or meaninglessness. In the process the head is turned upside down. On the edge of the ocean the absurdity of creating art in the form of leaps and headstands is added to the image as a heavy, self-imposed task with no foreseeable purpose.

Production delays, analogue enlargement, the viewing time of the video, holding one’s breath for a long period under water (required when diving) – these things appear in the works as ambivalence, but also as artistic ambition. The ambition to generate a suitable aesthetic by means of which both the “creation” of something as well as the idea of living, as VALIE EXPORT describes it, “in a way that traverses time and space” can be depicted.2

The artist lacks a space. He visualizes the situation and then takes a picture so to have a space to move about in for a short time. Or the other way around: it is the camera that creates image and subject alike. The subject sometimes threatens to vanish or go under. Yet at the same time it places itself upside down with utter precision and elevates itself over monstrous things.

What remains are the images – as actors that ultimately create the spaces that they, in truth, lack. Or in reality? A construction made up of two axes of significance leaning against each other: images and signs. Surveying deficits. Opticality, semiotics. Ozean, Zenit

(Translation from German: Chris Michalski)

1   Jacques Derrida, L’écriture et la différence, 1967
2   Stefan Römer, Reports from the Conceptual Paradise, 2013

_________________________________________________________________

The will and sense of the body
by Florian Ebner (in: Bulletin No. 20, Museum for Photography Braunschweig, May 2011)

If the human body was once considered ‘the measure of all things’, in the modern age it has come to be perceived as the last place for authentic experience. After the image and the art of representation were plunged into crisis in the 1960s and 1970s artists like Valie Export, Bas Jan Ader and Bruce Nauman discovered the experience of their own bodies as one of the few remaining truths. The body became a living image as well as a medium to be exploited, while a second medium was required to record the traces of this experience – the camera ( photography or video ).
If we look at the recent works of Sebastian Stumpf we find this same interplay between performance and the recording of performance, between the execution of a physical act and the documentation of it by means of a camera. The young artist operates in two distinct realms: in the empty spaces of contemporary art institutions and in urban settings with their preexisting orders. Stumpf’s appearance before the camera strikes the viewer as both artistic and subversive. An inconspicuous architectural detail suddenly becomes the catalyst for a physical exploit that astonishes, appalls, inspires laughter or troubles us. The art gallery becomes a space for action. Or by an act of functional mobilization the city and its walls, columns, trees, garages, bridges and passage ways become a kind of practice field.
Sebastian Stumpf’s interventions are physically impressive, but they also contain elements of slapstick humor, making clear that the artist is not interested in outwardly demonstrating the experience of his body. In this way his photographs and videos do not possess the existential pathos we find in many works of the 1970s. His experimental movements are ‘willful’ in more than one sense. They violate conventional codes of behavior in public spaces – climbing small trees along a promenade or jumping from a bridge – and they are essentially simple. The body tests its own physical processes as well as the laws of physics themselves by means of a direct experience, the same way a child might jump from the same step over and over again.
At the same time Stumpf’s works are not just actions but also precise images and reflections on the image. His interventions in museum spaces are shown in the same places where they have been created, thus exist in their own projection. The central element of these works is a paradoxical jest in which the artist’s body enters the ( image ) space only to remove itself again. The body moves ghost-like through the projected image on the wall as if the physical dimension of the performance did not exist. On the other hand the viewer is very much present in front of the image – not in the manner of a passive observer, in reserved distance to the artist ( as in a live performance ), but as an actor whose own body is placed in question: Can this really be done?
As the protagonist of his own photographs and videos Sebastian Stumpf examines art spaces and urban utopias – locations where the human body is only conceived as an abstract mathematical value in a planned structure. He feels out the clefts and crevices, the openings and blind alleys. In the 28-part photo series Sukima ( 2009 ), for example, his upright body appears squeezed between the strange geometry of the façades of buildings in Tokyo, like a whimsical revenant from Le Corbusier’s architectural system based on the Modulor ( the figure that stands for the modern human being ). From this perspective the presence of the artist in the images can best be described as that of a body attempting to calculate its own dimensions even as it remains resistant. An artistic and critical attitude towards these locations that has little to do with nonsense and everything to do with self-will.

Biography
  • 1980 born in Würzburg
    1999 - 2001 Studies of painting, graphic and object art at the Academy of Visual Arts in Nürnberg in the class of Rolf-Gunter Dienst
    2001-2002 Studies at the Ècole Nationale des Beaux-Arts in Lyon
    2002-2006 Studies of photography at the Academy of Visual Arts Leipzig in the class of Timm Rautert
    2006 diploma
    2006-2008 Master studies at the Academy of Visual Arts Leipzig in the class of Timm Rautert
    lives and works in Leipzig

Solo shows

  • 2019 12x12 Video Art, Berlinische Galerie, Berlin
    Zenith, Galerie Kleindienst, Leipzig
    Liquid Gaps, Frise Künstlerhaus Hamburg
    2018 Irrelevant Necessities, Drdova Gallery, Prague
    Still, Mies van der Rohe Haus, Berlin
    2017
    Irrelevant Necessities, Thomas Fischer Gallery, Berlin
    micro drames, Annex 14, Zurich
    2016
    Ocean, Thomas Fischer Gallery, Berlin
    2015 Bridges and Puddles, Anna Leonowens Gallery, NSCAD, Halifax (Canada)
    2014 Islands, Galerie Kleindienst, Leipzig
    Drodova Gallery (with Vojtecj Fröhlich), Prague
    2013 Unexpected, Galerie Thomas Fischer, Berlin
    Sleep #03. Permanent installation, Kulturstiftung des Bundes, Halle/Saale
    2012 Bridges, Wilhelm-Hack-Museum, Ludwigshafen
    2011 Nowhere Near, Museum of Photography, Braunschweig
    All these walls, Kunstverein Göttingen
    Highwalk, Galerie Thomas Fischer, Berlin
    a way, Kunsthalle Schweinfurt
    Brücken, Galerie Kleindienst, Leipzig
    2010 Neue Räume, project space, Museum Folkwang, Essen
    2009/2010 Never Really There, National Gallery Linz (Austria)
    2009 Performance #19, Video installation, Kunstverein Frankfurt/Main
    Gravity Pulls Everything II, Goethe Institute, Stockholm
    Trees, Project Space, Graffiti-Etat des lieux, Galerie du jour Agnes B., Paris
    2008 Auf und Ab, annex 14, Bern
    Leaving Again, Talents 13, C/O Berlin,
    Trees and underground garages, Galerie Kleindienst, Leipzig
    2007 Sebastian Stumpf - Videoinstallationen, Museum Folkwang, Essen
    Gravity Pulls Everything, Goethe Institute Lisbon
    Auf der anderen Seite, Flat of Felix Rehfeld, Bremen
    2006 Faux Terrain, Goethe Institute Lyon
    Free solo, Diploma, Gallery of the Academy of Visual Arts, Leipzig
    2005 Junge Kunst 10, with Jörg Obergfell, Galerie Kleindienst, Leipzig
    2003 Hoch, in the series of "vino della casa", Academy of Visual Arts, Leipzig
    Die helle Kammer, Die Vitrine, Nuremberg

Group shows

  • 2018 En Suspens, Le Bal, Paris
    Absurde Routinen, Kindl, Berlin
    2017
    open minded, KUNSTWERK Klein Collection, Eberdingen-Nussdorf
    Das Bild als temporäre Intervention, Galerie Maerz, Linz (Austria)
    Elsewhere is Nowhere, Kunsthalle Exnergasse, Vienna
    Biennale für Aktuelle Fotografie, Wilhelm Hack Museum, Ludwigshafen
    2016 Nuove esplorazioni, Fotografia Europea, Reggio Emilia (Italy)
    Elsewhere is Nowhere, National Museum of Fine Arts, Taichung (Taiwan)
    Reflective Architecture, ATMA, Ahmedabad (India)
    Storyteller, Vietnam Fine Arts Museum, Hanoi (Vietnam)
    2015
    4 Days, International Festival of Contemporary Art, Prag
    Iconic. The image as reference, Goethe Instutute, Madrid
    Werkbetrachtung, Art association Gera, Gera (Germany)
    Leipzig - city of heroes?, Goethe Institute, Marseille
    2014 Leipzig - Cité des héros, Goethe-Institut, Paris
    Buildering: Misbehaving the City, Contemporary Arts Center, Cincinnati (USA)
    Eine Klasse für sich, Kunsthalle im Lipsiusbau, Dresden
    F/stop. 6th Festival for contemporary photography, Spinnerei, Leipzig
    WIN/WIN. Purchases of the Saxonian Kulturstiftung, Halle 14, Leipzig
    2013 Roundabout, Annex 14, Zurich
    Was wir wollen, Königspavillion Central Station Dresden
    1.pers.sing., b-05 Art and Design Center, Montabaur (Germany)
    Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung, Berlin
    2012 Mind the system, find the gap, Z 33, Hasselt (Belgium)
    Wasistdas, Franklin Azzi Architecture, Paris
    2011 Extrem-Body, Space and Movement, art room Lower Austria
    Dreams of Power, Centrum Kultury Zamek, Poznan (Poland)
    Act / Out, Onomatopee, Eindhoven (Netherlands)
    Bas Jan Ader - Suspendido entre la risa y el llando, Museo de Arte de Zapopan (Mexico)
    Offen auf AEG, Nuremberg
    2010 Out of control, BIP 2010, Liege (Belgium)
    Outside-In, Aichi Triennial 2010, Japan
    B.J. Adler, Suspendes Between Laughter and Tears, Pitzer Art Galleries, Claremont (USA)
    Take space for example, annex 14, Bern
    6. Berlin Biennial of Contemporary Art, Berlin
    Neues Ausstellen, Marion Ermer Award 2010, New Museum Weimar
    Realistische Abstraktion, Kunstverein Leipzig
    Where Am I?, experimenter, Calcutta (India)
    2009 Performance/Frame, Galerie Anita Beckers, Frankfurt/Main
    Levitation, Farg Fabriken Norr, Oestersund (Sweden)
    Close the Gap, city gallery Speyer
    On concrete, Tokyo Wonder Site Hongo
    Close the Gap, art association Pfaffenhofen, Kulturhalle Pfaffenhofen
    60/40/20. Kunst in Leipzig seit 1949, Museum of Visual Arts, Leipzig
    Performance #19, on the occasion of Talents 08, Kunstverein Frankfurt, Frankfurt/Main
    2008 Wir sind nicht hier, um uns nett zu finden, Galerie Löhrl, Mönchengladbach
    Drawcula, Galerie Kleindienst, Leipzig
    Close the Gap, city gallery Kiel, Kiel
    2007 Ohne Schatten, master class Rautert, Galerie Eigen+Art, Leipzig
    Blaue Blume, École Nationale des Beaux-Arts, Lyon
    Zeig mir deinen Katalog, du Schwein!, Galerie Kleindienst, Leipzig
    Fotografierte Landschaft, Museum of Visual Arts, Leipzig
    F-stop/ 1. International Festival of Photography, Leipzig
    2006 Artifizielle Präsenz, Kunst im Wohnraum, Family Pues, Essen
    Leipzig und die Fotografie, art hall of the Sparkasse Leipzig
    Multistandard - switch on the light before sleeping, Gallery of the Arts, Berlin
    2005 Alles was glänzt - Contemporary photography from Leipzig, Kunstverein Göttingen
    Wo bist du, Galerie Alexandra Saheb, Berlin
    Kalte Herzen, Klassenausstellung, Galerie Kleindienst, Leipzig / Kunstverein Radolfszell
    Junge Kunst 10, with Jörg Obergfell, Galerie Kleindienst, Leipzig
    2004 50% Realität, art award of the Stadtwerke Leipzig, Kunstraum B2, Leipzig
    Just Good News for People Who Love Bad News, Galerie Eigen+Art, Leipzig
    Kalte Herzen, Klassenausstellung, Kunstbunker Tumulka, Munich
    3x2=7, Nikischplatz 4, Leipzig

Grants

  • 2017 foundation prize for photographic art, Alison and Peter Klein Foundation
    Artist in Residence Bauhaus, Dessau (Germany)
    2016
     Scholarship for Contemporary German Photohgraphy, Foundation Alfried Krupp von Bohlen und Halbach / Museum Folkwang, Essen
    Fellowship Villa Aurora, Los Angeles
    2015
    Artist-in-Residency, Nova Scotia College of Art and Design, Halifax
    2014
    Cité internationale des Arts, Paris
    2013
    EHF 2010 grant, Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung
    2010/2011
    Grant from the culture foundation of the states
    2010 Marion Ermer Award
    Working grant from the culture foundation of Saxony
    2006-2007 Grant of the DAAD in Portugal
    2005 Grant of the German National Academic Foundation
    Academy Award of the Academy of Visual Arts Nuremberg
    2004 Career Grant for Art of the Stadtwerke Leipzig/Halle
    2001-2002 Grant of the DFJW for studies at the École Nationale des Beaux-Arts in Lyon

Bibliography

  • 2014 Steffen Siegel: Trompe- l' oeil in the Loop. Sebastian Stumpf's performative visual media theory." in: Steffen Siegel: "Exposures- for photographic presence." editor: Gottfried Boehm, picture and text: Wilhelm Fink, Paderborn
    2013 "l. pers. sing.- artist body between self Portrait and Performance"; exhibition, catalog, editor: b-05, publishing house Kerber, Bielefeld, Berlin
    2012 "Mind the System- Find the Gap"; exhibition, catalog, editor: z33, Hasselt, Belgium
    2011 "away"; with texts by Florian Ebner and Stanislaw Borokowski, Spector books, Leipzig
    2010 "All These Walls"; with a text by Steffen Siegel, Marion-Ermer-Preis, argo books, Berlin/ "was draußen wartet"; exhibition, catalog, editor: Kathrin Rhomberg, 6. Berlin Biennale for contemporary art, DuMont, Köln
    2009 "Never Really There"; with texts by Stefanie Hoch and Fiona Amundsen, editor: state gallery of Linz at the upper Austrian national museum, Fotohof, Salzburg/ "on concrete"; together with Yuko Kamei and Jörg Obergfell, Tokyo Wonder Site Hongo, Tokyo
    2008 "Leaving again"; with a text by Stefanie Hoch, editor: C/O Berlin, German art publisher, München Berlin
    2007 "weiße Räume verlassen"; catalog with texts by Dieter Daniels and Wolf Schmid, editor: Galerie Kleindienst, Leipzig
    2004 "cold hearts. class Rautert- photography/video/installation", Academy of Visual Arts in Leipzig

Sebastian Stumpf

Fotografie
Video
Text

Der Kopf ist auf sich selbst gestellt
von Lina Morawetz anlässlich der Ausstellung "Zenit" im April / Mai 2019 in der Galerie Kleindienst

Der Maler Eugene Delacroix soll gesagt haben, es gebe Linien, die Ungeheuer sind … Sofort fragt man: welche Linien? Und fragt: Welche Ungeheuer? Schon möglich, dass Delacroix die horizontale Linie meinte, denn ein derart ungekrümmter Strich ohne Querausdehnung hat definitiv etwas Überwältigendes, Eindrückliches an sich. Der Horizont ist nichts anderes als eine ungeheure Linie.

Der Horizont entzweit das Bild. Die in der Leipziger Galerie Kleindienst gezeigte fotografische Serie Zenit unterhält in acht Bilderpaaren eine ambivalente Beziehung zu dieser Linie. Das kommt durch ungeheure Lagen zur Sprache. Und es gibt in den Bildern außerdem noch eine dünne, schwarze, krakelige, fast unsichtbare aber nicht unerhebliche Linie, die darauf verweist, dass der Protagonist im Bild die Kamera selbst auslöst. 

Der Ozean ist blau und grün, eine eigentlich atemberaubende Lage. Aber um solche Aussichten geht es hier nicht. Es geht um ein Bild, in welches sich der Protagonist in halsbrecherischer Millimeterarbeit einpasst: um es damit überhaupt erst zu konstruieren. Es ist nämlich so, dass Delacroix auch gesagt haben soll, eine Linie allein habe keine Bedeutung; es bedürfe einer zweiten, um ihr Ausdruck zu verleihen. Dementsprechend verleiht die Vertikalität des Körpers der Fotografie zusammen mit der ersten Linie des Horizonts als Zeichen so etwas wie Signifikanz – »Ausdruck«. Diese akkuraten Achsen erlauben dann auch einem schrägen Fuß einer Fußnote gleich abzuweichen von einer Erzählung, die keine ist. 

Erzählt wird von keinen Zusammenhängen, von keinen Versuchen. Ozean und Zenit befassen sich durch das Festhalten eines springenden Punktes mit der Konstruktion von Bildern in Zeit und Raum in Zeiten ohne Zeit und Raum. Einer medienontologischen Reflexion gleich sind die Arbeiten eine De-Realisation; nachträgliche, bildliche Verwirklichungen vergangener Performances, gleichzeitig eine Art Bildtäuschung am Rande einer ruinösen, nicht weiter definierten Welt. 

Der Boden dieser Welt besteht aus Beton, aus Sand, aus bröckeligen Blöcken, die rutschig wirken und wohl regelmäßig von der Flut umspült werden. »Ōkeanós« war im alten Griechenland der Weltstrom, der die flache Erdscheibe umfloss. Wohingegen heute Weltmeere die Weltkugel umrauschen, oder eher: der Mensch die Ozeane beraubt. Die Welt steht Kopf.

»Zenit« heißt in Richtung des Kopfes; und als wollte das Bild einer aus den Fugen geratenen Welt gerecht werden, weist in jedem zweitem Bild der Serie der Kopf des Protagonisten »nach unten«. 

Aber der Kopf ist auf sich selbst gestellt. Es ist deutlich zu erkennen, dass der Kopf auf die Welt gestellt ist und nicht die Welt auf den Kopf.

Das neben Zenit gezeigte Video Ozean wiederum evoziert im Betrachter in erster Linie die ambivalente Erwartung, der Protagonist, weil er in das Wasser ab- und aber daraus nicht mehr sichtbar hochtaucht, verschwände im Ozean. Das Verschwinden wird zudem an einer existentiellen Lokalität suggeriert, dort, wo sich Land und Wasser scheiden. Damit wird Bas Jan Ader auf den Plan gerufen, der sagte: »Das Meer, das Land, der Künstler erkennt mit großer Trauer, dass auch sie nicht mehr sein werden.«

Ob es sich bei derlei Sprüngen und Kopfständen und beim Wegtauchen um Ernst oder Spiel handelt, lässt sich dahingehend beantworten, dass gerade die Abwesenheit des Sinns in der ungeheuren Lage ist, Sinn zu verleihen. In einer Fußnote Jacques Derridas liest man: »Das Ernste allein hat einen Sinn: Das Spiel, das keinen Sinn mehr hat, ist ernsthaft nur in dem Maße, als die ›Abwesenheit eines Sinns ebenfalls ein Sinn ist‹, der sich aber stets in der Nacht eines indifferenten Nicht-Seins verläuft.«1 

Kunstmachen ist Ankämpfen. Gegen »Nächte des indifferenten Nicht-Seins«, gegen Unterbelichtung bis hin zur Atem- oder Bedeutungslosigkeit. Der Kopf ist dabei auf sich selbst gestellt. Am Rande des Ozeans wird in Form von Sprüngen und Kopfständen der Absurdismus des Kunstmachens als schwere, selbstauferlegte Tätigkeit ohne absehbares Ende ins Bild gerückt.

Produktionstechnische Verzögerung, analoge Vergrößerung, die Rezeptionsdauer des Videos, das lange Anhalten des Atems unter Wasser, notwendig fürs Tauchen, sie weisen sich in den Arbeiten als Ambivalenz aus—aber eben auch als künstlerische Ambition. Nämlich eine passende Optik herzustellen, mit der sowohl das »Schaffen« von Etwas darstellbar ist als auch die Vorstellung des einmal von VALIE EXPORT zur Sprache gebrachten »Leben quer durch Raum und Zeit.«2

Der Künstler vermisst einen Raum. Er macht sich ein Bild der Lage, macht dann ein Bild, um einen Raum zu haben, in dem es sich eine zeitlang bewegen lässt. Oder umgekehrt: erst der Einsatz einer Kamera bringt sowohl das Bild als auch ein Subjekt hervor. Das Subjekt droht mitunter abzutauchen oder unterzugehen. Es stellt sich andererseits präzise auf den Kopf und erhebt sich über ungeheure Dinge.

Zurück bleiben die Bilder als Akteurinnen, die letztlich jene Räume schaffen, die sie in Wahrheit vermissen. Oder in Wirklichkeit? Eine Konstruktion aus zwei Achsen der Signifikanz, die sich ineinander lehnen: Bilder und Zeichen. Vermessen und Vermissen. Optikalität und Semiotik. Ozean, Zenit

1   Jacques Derrida, Die Schrift und die Differenz, 1972
2   Stefan Römer, Reports from the Conceptual Paradise, 2013

_________________________________________________________________________

Der Eigensinn des Körpers
von Florian Ebner (in: Bulletin No. 20, Museum für Photographie Braunschweig, Mai 2011)

Nach einer alten Vorstellung ist der menschliche Körper das Maß aller Dinge. In der Wahrnehmung der Moderne ist er gar der letzte Ort authentischer Erfahrung. Als die Bilder und die Kunst der Repräsentation in die Krise gerieten, entdeckten Künstlerinnen und Künstler der 1960er und 1970er Jahre, wie Valie Export, Bas Jan Ader und Bruce Nauman, die Erfahrung des eigenen Körpers als eine der wenigen verbliebenen Wahrheiten. Wurde ihr Körper zu einem Medium, das nun als lebendes Bild auftrat oder dessen physische Belastbarkeit man auslotete, so brauchte es ein zweites Medium, das die Spur dieser Erfahrung aufzeichnete, wie etwa den Fotoapparat oder die Videokamera.
Blickt man auf die aktuellen Arbeiten von Sebastian Stumpf, so findet man auch hier das Zusammenspiel von ›Performing‹ und ›Recording‹, von der Ausführung einer Handlung und ihrer Aufzeichnung durch die Kamera. Der junge Künstler operiert auf zwei verschiedenen Feldern: in den leeren Räumen zeitgenössischer Kunstinstitutionen und im urbanen Raum mit seiner vorgegebenen Ordnung. Dabei erscheint uns Stumpfs Auftritt vor der Kamera als ebenso artistisch wie subversiv: Ein unscheinbares architektonisches Detail wird plötzlich zum Auslöser einer körperlichen Leistung, welche erstaunt, verwundert, zum Lachen bringt oder verstört. Die Kunsthalle nutzt er als Aktionsraum, die funktionale Möblierung der Stadt mitsamt ihren Mauern und Säulen, Bäumen und Garagen, Brücken und Passagen dient ihm als Übungsterrain.
Sebastian Stumpfs Interventionen sind souverän, aber auch voller Slapstick; sie legen nahe, dass es dem Künstler nicht wichtig ist, die Erfahrung des eigenen Körpers illustrativ nach außen zu tragen – so besitzen sie nicht das existentielle Pathos mancher Arbeiten der 1970er Jahre. Vielmehr stellen sie seine experimentellen Bewegungen in doppelter Hinsicht als eigensinnig dar. Sie widersetzen sich den konventionellen Verhaltensweisen im öffentlichen Raum – wie sonst sollte man die Besteigung kleiner Bäumchen an der neuen Promenade oder den Sprung von Brücken bezeichnen – doch dabei sind sie von elementarer Einfachheit: Der Körper überprüft die eigenen Bewegungsabläufe und die Gesetze der Physik durch ihre unmittelbare Erfahrung, so wie ein Kind, das immer wieder von derselben Stufe springt.
Zugleich beläßt es Stumpf nicht nur bei der Aktion, sondern übersetzt sie in präzise Bilder und Reflexionen über das Bild. Seine Interventionen im Museumsraum werden an den Stellen gezeigt, wo sie entstanden sind, sie existieren also nur in der Projektion. Das zentrale Motiv dieser Arbeiten ist ein paradoxes Spiel, bei dem der Körper des Künstlers, der eben erst den ( Bild-) Raum betreten hat, sich wieder entzieht. Geisterhaft bewegt sich der Körper durch das projizierte Bild an der Wand, als ob es die physische Dimension dieser Performance nicht gegeben hätte. Präsent hingegen ist die Betrachterin und der Betrachter vor dem Bild, nicht in der Perspektive des passiven Zuschauens, in scheuer Distanz zu einem real agierenden Künstler (wie bei einer Liveperformance), sondern als Akteurin und Akteur, deren Körper sich die Frage stellen: Kann man dies wirklich tun?
Als Protagonist seiner Fotografien und Videoarbeiten befasst sich Sebastian Stumpf mit künstlichen Räumen und urbanen Utopien – Orte, an denen der menschliche Körper nur eine abstrakte Rechengröße in einer geplanten Struktur ist. Er spürt deren Lücken und Spalten auf, deren Ausstiege und Sackgassen. In der 28-teiligen Fotoserie Sukima (2009) erscheint sein aufrecht stehender Körper, eingepasst in die strenge Geometrie der Fassaden von Tokioter Gebäuden, wie ein wunderlicher Wiedergänger von Le Corbusiers Figur des Modulors, jener Maßfigur des modernen Menschen. Ausgehend davon lässt sich die Anwesenheit des Künstlers in seinen Bildern als die eines Körpers beschreiben, der Maß nimmt und dabei widerständig bleibt. Eine künstlerische und kritische Haltung gegenüber diesen Orten, die ein wenig mit Nonsens, aber viel mehr noch mit Eigensinn zu tun hat.

Biografie
  • 1980 geboren in Würzburg
  • 1999 - 2001 Studium der Malerei, Grafik und Objektkunst an der Akademie der Bildenden Künste in Nürnberg bei Rolf-Gunter Dienst
  • 2001-2002 Gaststudium an der École Nationale des Beaux-Arts in Lyon
  • 2002-2006 Studium der Fotografie an der Hochschule für Grafik und Buchkunst in Leipzig bei Timm Rautert
  • 2006 Diplom
  • 2006-2008 Meisterschülerstudium an der Hochschule für Grafik und Buchkunst in Leipzig bei Timm Rautert
  • lebt und arbeitet in Leipzig

Einzelausstellungen

  • 2019 12x12 Video Art, Berlinische Galerie, Berlin
  • Zenit, Galerie Kleindienst, Leipzig
  • Liquid Gaps, Frise Künstlerhaus Hamburg
  • 2018 Irrelevant Necessities, Drdova Gallery, Prag
  • Still, Mies van der Rohe Haus, Berlin
  • 2017 Irrelevant Necessities, Thomas Fischer Gallery, Berlin
  • micro drames, Annex 14, Zürich
  • 2016 Ozean, Galerie Thomas Fischer, Berlin
    2015
    Bridges and Puddles, Anna Leonowens Gallery, NSCAD, Halifax (Kanada)
  • 2014 Inseln, Galerie Kleindienst, Leipzig
    Drdova Gallery (mit Vojtech Fröhlich), Prag
  • 2013 Unvorhergesehen, Galerie Thomas Fischer, Berlin
    Sleep #03. Dauerhafte Installation, Kulturstiftung des Bundes, Halle/Saale
  • 2012 Bridges, Wilhelm-Hack-Museum, Ludwigshafen
  • 2011 Nowhere Near, Museum für Photographie, Braunschweig
    All these walls, Kunstverein Göttingen
    Highwalk, Galerie Thomas Fischer, Berlin
    a way, Kunsthalle Schweinfurt
    Brücken, Galerie Kleindienst, Leipzig
  • 2010 Neue Räume, Projektraum, Museum Folkwang, Essen
  • 2009/2010 Never Really There, Landesgalerie Linz (Österreich)
  • 2009 Performance #19, Videoinstallation, Frankfurter Kunstverein, Frankfurt/M.
    Gravity Pulls Everything II, Goethe-Institut Stockholm
    Trees, Project Space, Graffiti-Etat des lieux, Galerie du jour Agnes B., Paris
  • 2008 Auf und Ab, annex 14, Bern
    Leaving Again, Talents 13, C/O Berlin,
    Bäume und Tiefgaragen, Galerie Kleindienst, Leipzig
  • 2007 Sebastian Stumpf - Videoinstallationen, Museum Folkwang, Essen
    Gravity Pulls Everything, Goethe-Institut, Lissabon
    Auf der anderen Seite, Wohnung Felix Rehfeld, Bremen
  • 2006 Faux Terrain, Goethe-Institut, Lyon
    Free solo, Diplom, Galerie der Hochschule für Grafik und Buchkunst, Leipzig
  • 2005 Junge Kunst 10, mit Jörg Obergfell, Galerie Kleindienst, Leipzig
  • 2003 Hoch, in der Reihe von "vino della casa", HGB, Leipzig
    Die helle Kammer, Die Vitrine/ Showroom für junge Kunst, Nürnberg

Ausstellungsbeteiligungen

  • 2018 En Suspens, Le Bal, Paris
  • Absurde Routinen, KIndl, Berlin
  • 2017 open minded. Stiftungspreis Fotokunst, KUNSTWERK Sammlung Klein, Eberdingen-Nussdorf
  • Das Bild als temporäre Intervention, Galerie Maerz, Linz (Österreich)
  • Elsewhere is Nowhere, Kunsthalle Exnergasse, Wien
  • Biennale für Aktuelle Fotografie, Wilhelm Hack Museum, Ludwigshafen
  • 2016 Nuove esplorazioni, Fotografia Europea, Reggio Emilia (Italy)
    Elsewhere is Nowhere, National Museum of Fine Arts, Taichung (Taiwan)
    Reflective Architecture, ATMA, Ahmedabad (Indien)
    Storyteller, Vietnam Fine Arts Museum, Hanoi, Vietnam
  • 2015 4 Days, International Festival of Contemporary Art, Prag
    Ikonisch. Das Bild als Referenz, Goethe Institut, Madrid
    Werkbetrachtung, Kunstverein Gera
    Leipzig - Heldenstadt?, Goethe-Institut, Marseille
  • 2014 Leipzig - Cité des héros, Goethe-Institut, Paris
    Buildering: Misbehaving the City, Contemporary Arts Center, Cincinnati (USA)
    Eine Klasse für sich, Kunsthalle im Lipsiusbau, Dresden
    F/stop. 6. Festival für zeitgenössische Fotografie, Spinnerei, Leipzig
    WIN/WIN. Ankäufe der Kulturstiftung des Freistaates Sachsen, Halle 14, Leipzig
  • 2013 Roundabout, Annex 14, Zürich
    Was wir wollen, Königspavillion Hauptbahnhof Dresden
    1.pers.sing., b-05 Art and Design Center, Montabaur
    Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung, Berlin
  • 2012 Mind the system, find the gap, Z 33, Hasselt (Belgien)
    Wasistdas, Franklin Azzi Architecture, Paris
  • 2011 Extrem-Body, Space and Movement, Kunstraum Niederösterreich
    Dreams of Power, Centrum Kultury Zamek, Poznan (Polen)
    Act / Out, Onomatopee, Eindhoven (Niederlande)
    Bas Jan Ader - Suspendido entre la risa y el llando, Museo de Arte de Zapopan (Mexiko)
    Offen auf AEG, Nürnberg
  • 2010 Out of control, BIP 2010, Liege (Belgien)
    Outside-In, Aichi Triennale 2010, Japan
    B.J. Adler, Suspendes Between Laughter and Tears, Pitzer Art Galleries, Claremont (USA)
    Take space for example, annex 14, Bern
    6. Berlin Biennale für zeitgenössische Kunst, Berlin
    Neues Ausstellen, Marion Ermer Preis 2010, Neues Museum Weimar
    Realistische Abstraktion, Kunstverein Leipzig
    Where Am I?, experimenter, Kalkutta (Indien)
  • 2009 Performance/Frame, Galerie Anita Beckers, Frankfurt/M.
    Levitation, Farg Fabriken Norr, Oestersund (Schweden)
    Close the Gap, Stadtgalerie Speyer
    On concrete, Tokyo Wonder Site Hongo
    Close the Gap, Paffenhofener Kunstverein, Kulturhalle Pfaffenhofen
    60/40/20. Kunst in Leipzig seit 1949, Museum der bildenden Künste Leipzig
    Performance #19, im Rahmen von Talents 08, Frankfurter Kunstverein, Frankfurt/M.
  • 2008 Wir sind nicht hier, um uns nett zu finden, Galerie Löhrl, Mönchengladbach
    Drawcula, Galerie Kleindienst, Leipzig
    Close the Gap, Stadtgalerie Kiel, Kiel
  • 2007 Ohne Schatten, Meisterklasse Rautert, Galerie Eigen+Art, Leipzig
    Blaue Blume, École Nationale des Beaux-Arts, Lyon
    Zeig mir deinen Katalog, du Schwein!, Galerie Kleindienst, Leipzig
    Fotografierte Landschaft, Museum der bildenden Künste, Leipzig
    F-stop/ 1. Internationales Fotografiefestival, Leipzig
  • 2006 Artifizielle Präsenz, Kunst im Wohnraum, Familie Pues, Essen
    Leipzig und die Fotografie, Kunsthalle der Sparkasse, Leipzig
    Multistandard - switch on the light before sleeping, Galerie der Künste, Berlin
  • 2005 Alles was glänzt - Zeitgenössische Fotografie aus Leipzig, Kunstverein Göttingen
    Wo bist du, Galerie Alexandra Saheb, Berlin
    Kalte Herzen, Klassenausstellung, Galerie Kleindienst, Leipzig / Kunstverein Radolfszell
    Junge Kunst 10, mit Jörg Obergfell, Galerie Kleindienst, Leipzig 
  • 2004 50% Realität, Kunstförderpreis der Stadtwerke Leipzig, Kunstraum B2, Leipzig
    Just Good News for People Who Love Bad News, Galerie Eigen+Art, Leipzig
    Kalte Herzen, Klassenausstellung, Kunstbunker Tumulka, München
    3x2=7, Nikischplatz 4, Leipzig

Stipendien / Preise

  • 2017 Stiftungspreis Fotokunst, Stiftung Alison und Peter Klein Stiftung
  • Aufenthaltsstipendium Bauhaus, Dessau
    2016 
    Stipendium für Zeitgenössische Deutsche Fotografie, Alfried Krupp von Bohlen und Halbach-Stiftung / Museum Folkwang, Essen
  • Fellowship Villa Aurora, Los Angeles (USA)
    2015
    Artist-in-Residency, Nova Scotia College of Art and Design, Halifax (Kanada)
    2014
    Cité internationale des Arts, Paris
    2013
    EHF 2010 grant, Konrad-Adenauer-Stiftung
    2010/2011
    Stipendium der Kulturstiftung der Länder
  • 2010 Marion Ermer Preis
    Arbeitsstipendium der Kulturstiftung des Freistaates Sachsen
  • 2006-2007 Stipendium des DAAD für Portugal
  • 2005 Stipendium der Studienstiftung des deutschen Volkes
    Akademiepreis der Akademie der Bildenden Künste Nürnberg
  • 2004 Kunstförderpreis der Stadtwerke Leipzig/Halle
  • 2001-2002 Stipendium des DFJW für das Gaststudium an der École Nationale des Beaux-Arts in Lyon

Bibliografie

  • 2014 Steffen Siegel:"Trompe- l' oeil im Loop. Sebastian Stumpfs performative Bildmedientherorie" in: Steffen Siegel: "Belichtungen- Zur fotografischen Gegenwart."; Herausgeber: Gottfried Boehm, Bild und Text: Wilhelm Fink, Paderborn
  • 2013 "l. pers. sing.- Künstlerkörper zwischen Selbstportrait und Performance"; Ausstellung, Katalog, Herausgeber: b-05, Kerber Verlag, Bielefeld, Berlin
  • 2012 "Mind the System- Find the Gap"; Ausstellung, Katalog, Herausgeber: z33, Hasselt, Belgien
  • 2011 "away"; mit Texten von Florian Ebner und Stanislaw Borokowski, Spector books, Leipzig
  • 2010 "All These Walls"; mit einem Text von Steffen Siegel, Marion-Ermer-Preis, argo books, Berlin/ "was draußen wartet"; Ausstellung, Katalog, Herausgeber: Kathrin Rhomberg, 6. Berlin Biennale für zeitgenössische Kunst, DuMont, Köln
  • 2009 "Never Really There"; mit Texten von Stefanie Hoch und Fiona Amundsen, Herausgeber: Landesgalerie Linz am oberösterreichischen Landesmuseum, Fotohof, Salzburg/ "on concrete"; gemeinsam mit Yuko Kamei und Jörg Obergfell, Tokyo Wonder Site Hongo, Tokio
  • 2008 "Leaving again"; mit einem Text von Stefanie Hoch, Herausgeber: C/O Berlin, Deutscher Kunstverlag, München Berlin
  • 2007 "weiße Räume verlassen"; Katalog mit Texten von Dieter Daniels und Wolf Schmid, Herausgeber: Galerie Kleindienst, Leipzig
  • 2004 "Kalte Herzen. Klasse Rautert- Fotografie/Video/Installation", Hochschule für Grafik und Buchkunst Leipzig, Schaden, Köln